Home > Archive > PHP Pear > May 2005 > It seems that I'm on a blocklist
You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread.
To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to
this thread please [click here]
| Author |
It seems that I'm on a blocklist
|
|
| Rodrigo Alvarez Fernández 2005-05-30, 8:57 pm |
| Hi PEARs,
I'm trying to connect to news.php.net with Mozilla Thunderbird, but it
alerts me with:
"A news (NNTP) error ocurred: you're on a blocklist, refusing to serve
you content"
In fact, this mail is a test beign sent from my webmail.
Anybody knows why is this happening?
Thanks,
Rodrigo.
| |
| Wez Furlong 2005-05-30, 8:57 pm |
| It means that you're on one of the RBLs or XBLs.
Either you (or the person that had your IP address before you) either
sent a lot of spam or is infected with a virus.
We use this information to judge whether you're connecting from "spammy"
net space; if you are, we won't serve you content from the mailing lists
in case you are actually a spammer and are harvesting email addresses
from the lists.
Sorry if this inconveniences you, but it's an anti-spam measure in place
to protect the people using the mailing lists.
You can still view the archives online at
http://news.php.net/php.pear.general
--Wez.
Rodrigo Alvarez Fernández wrote:
> Hi PEARs,
>
> I'm trying to connect to news.php.net with Mozilla Thunderbird, but it
> alerts me with:
>
> "A news (NNTP) error ocurred: you're on a blocklist, refusing to serve
> you content"
>
> In fact, this mail is a test beign sent from my webmail.
>
> Anybody knows why is this happening?
>
> Thanks,
>
> Rodrigo.
| |
| Rodrigo Alvarez Fernández 2005-05-31, 9:09 am |
| Ok, my ip is dynamic, and I didn't sent any spam or viruses. Can I get
out from that blacklist?
Thanks.
On 5/31/05, Wez Furlong <wez@php.net> wrote:
> It means that you're on one of the RBLs or XBLs.
> Either you (or the person that had your IP address before you) either
> sent a lot of spam or is infected with a virus.
>=20
> We use this information to judge whether you're connecting from "spammy"
> net space; if you are, we won't serve you content from the mailing lists
> in case you are actually a spammer and are harvesting email addresses
> from the lists.
>=20
> Sorry if this inconveniences you, but it's an anti-spam measure in place
> to protect the people using the mailing lists.
>=20
> You can still view the archives online at
> http://news.php.net/php.pear.general
>=20
> --Wez.
>=20
> Rodrigo Alvarez Fern=E1ndez wrote:
>
| |
| Wez Furlong 2005-05-31, 4:00 pm |
| We're using an aggregate of the Spamhaus SBL and XBL; we can't remove
you from it, because we don't manage it.
My suggestion is for you to try to cycle your IP (by disconnecting and
reconnecting). If you can't get an IP that isn't on a blocklist, you
should contact your ISP. If this happens often, you should probably
consider using a different ISP with a better "reputation".
--Wez.
Rodrigo Alvarez Fernández wrote:[color=darkred]
> Ok, my ip is dynamic, and I didn't sent any spam or viruses. Can I get
> out from that blacklist?
>
> Thanks.
>
> On 5/31/05, Wez Furlong <wez@php.net> wrote:
>
|
|
|
|
|