| Gabor Hojtsy 2005-12-17, 6:57 pm |
| Hi Gustavo,
(The PHP Group also CC-ed).
> I would like to know whether the PHP Group endorses the website
> www.php.com.ve?
No.
> I don't think so, this is why I ask this question.
>
> I am going to translate into English a part of a message in their forum
> <http://www.php.com.ve/forum_viewtopic.php?12.229>:
>
> "The main success of 'PHP de Venezuela' within Its two years of life,
> was being approved by the International PHP Group as a certified
> institution because of Its contributions with regard to the spreading of
> this programming language in Latinamerica and several contributions in
> the official Spanish documentation".
I also babelfished this page:
http://babelfish.altavista.com/babe...opic.php?12.229
And got this:
| The main profit that PHP of Venezuela has had in his almost 2 years of
| existence, is the approval of PHP Group the International, as
| certified being thanks to its contributions in the expansion from
| this language to Latin America and the several contributions
| made developing of docuofficial mentación in Spanish.
> However:
> 1.- As far as I know, the PHP Group does not certify neither
> institutions nor persons.
Right.
> 2.- In the Spanish translation team there is only one venezuelan:
> Gustavo Narea.
> 3.- In the years I have spent using PHP, I have never heard of some
> venezuelan contribution to this community. Am I wrong?
Well, it is hard to tell, who is venezuelan.
> These scammers are using their link in http://www.php.net/links.php to
> tell people that the PHP Group endorses certificates issued by 'PHP de
> Venezuela', which is obviously *false*. The next one is another
> translation into english from their website
> <http://www.php.com.ve/forum_viewtopic.php?12.6605>:
>
> catp1710 said: Who does endorse these certificates worldwide?
> Alexander Garzon (the director of PHP-Venezuela) said: Check this out
> http://www.php.net/links.php
>
> On the other hand, each webpage in php.com.ve says that this website is
> endorsed by www.php.net; in Spanish you will find the phrase "Respaldado
> por" (endorsed by), followed by the PHP's logo with a link to the PHP's
> website.
>
> This is a for-profit website and they are using us in order to scam
> Venezuelan PHP programmers. Is it possible to remove www.php.com.ve from
> the links section? This way, they will not be able to scam more
> Venezuelans.
I have immediately removed the link (it will get removed from the mirror
sites including php.net next time they update from our rsync server).
What other steps should we make? Will the PHP Group take care about this
issue?
Happy holidays,
Gabor Hojtsy
|